Unique Perspectives

Strategic Advisory Board

Each of these leaders has been actively engaged with Veriten since our firm’s inception, providing expertise and guidance to help build our knowledge platform; we are pleased to formalize their role by forming our Strategic Advisory Board. With so many changes happening every day in energy and our world more broadly, having this amazing group to regularly consult with is going to make us even stronger as we frame the future of energy.

Greg Armstrong

Greg Armstrong is the co-founder and former Chairman and CEO of Plains All American Pipeline, L.P. He currently serves as a director of Plains; NOV, Inc.; and Memorial Hermann Healthcare System and also serves as a member of the Baker Institute Board of Advisors at Rice University. He previously served as a director in the Federal Reserve System for eleven years, retiring as Chair of The Dallas Fed in 2021, and was inducted into the Texas Business Hall of Fame in 2015.

Leslie Beyer

Leslie Beyer is CEO of the Energy Workforce & Technology Council. She spent 15 years in Washington, D.C. serving in policy and public affairs roles in the U.S. Senate, multiple presidential campaigns, The White House – Executive Office of the President, U.S. State Department and U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development. She was named Hart Energy’s Top 25 Women in Energy in 2021 and Houston Business Journal’s Most Admired CEO in 2022.

Naomi Boness

Naomi Boness is the Managing Director of the Natural Gas Initiative (NGI) at Stanford University and Co-Managing Director of the Stanford Hydrogen Initiative. Prior to Stanford, she held a variety of technical and management positions at Chevron. Dr. Boness is also a Director at Aemetis and an advisor on several energy startups. She is also a member of the organizing committee for the Women in Clean Energy, Education and Empowerment (C3E) Initiative.

Deborah Byers

Deborah Byers retired as a Partner from EY after 36 years of service in Public Accounting, including numerous leadership roles. She was EY’s Americas Industry Leader and prior to that was EY’s Houston Office Managing partner and US Energy Leader, and Managing Partner of the Southwest Region Strategy & Transactions business unit. She currently serves as a member of the Board of Directors of Civitas Resources, Kinetik Inc., and Excelerate Energy, Inc. Deborah is an Advisory Board member of Switch Alliance and a member of the Memorial Hermann Foundation Board and the Depelchin Childrens Hospital Foundation.

Bill Flores

Bill Flores served as the U.S. Representative for the 17th Congressional District of Texas from 2011 through 2021. Mr. Flores has also served in board governance and senior leadership positions for numerous public and private entities. Mr. Flores is active on several corporate and non-profit boards including his appointment as Vice-Chair and independent board member of the Electricity Reliability Council of Texas (ERCOT).